About Me

Hello, my name is Tamami and I attend Middleton Regional High School. I currently live in Nova Scotia and I am 15 years old. I have a very diverse family, as my father is French-Canadian and my mother is Japanese. Because of this, I speak English and French, as well as Japanese, and I’m hoping to relearn Spanish in the near future.

I was born in Mexico and moved to Canada when I was almost 5 years old. I attended a French school for my first three years in Canada, then transferred to a nearby English elementary school. Being schooled in French was a great experience for me that I think helped shape me as a person.

I have many interests, some of which include reading, sports (such as soccer and gymnastics), science, coaching, and the outdoors. I do a lot of volunteering for different groups, including CARP and my gymnastics club. In the future, I hope to find work in the science field as this is where my interests lie.

I am currently working on an inquiry project on GMOs, which is what brought me here. In my last semester, I took Agrifoods 11 and we learned a few things about genetically modified organisms, and I found the topic quite interesting. My interest in GMOs increased when I went home and had a conversation on them with my father, who pointed out many environmental effects that I had not realized they had. Since then, GMOs and the controversies that come with them have been a subject of research for me.

I hope that I can learn from other people on this website, and I’m excited to see what the future brings 🙂

Leave a Reply