About me – Lokshana Groodoyal

My name is Lokshana Groodoyal, but my friends call me “Lana” because Lokshana can be hard to pronounce for others😉 I’m 17 years old (enjoying my last year before I’m legally an adult 😊). I live in Coquitlam, BC and currently attending Dr. Charles Best Secondary School. My favourite subject would be all of them, except math because we don’t get along too well, but if I had to choose one it would be an introductory Spanish class, I took in grade 11, which was challenging, but FUN.

I was born and raised in a beautiful, little Paradise called Mauritius Island. (Did you think I was from India? 😊 Don’t worry I get that a lot where they assume, I’m from India because of my skin colour) However, I do follow the Hindu & Marathi religion, which are the same religion followed by the Indians. I moved to Canada when I was 10 and I can tell you that I love it here, everyone is nice and polite, but of course, your motherland would always be your motherland. I can be quite mysterious to people who don’t know me yet, but once you get to know me, you’ll realize how open of a book I am 😊.

Something that might surprise others is that I am multilinguistic. I speak French (mother-tongue), Creole, English, Hindi, Marathi, Punjabi, Spanish (basic-understanding). I know that’s a lot, but what can I say I have a passion for languages. I just adore all the different types of language that I wish I could learn all of them. However, I’m also passionate about social sciences, law, and volunteering. Just a fun fact about me, – I like volunteering better than a job, I know that if I work I would earn money, but the love, the experiences and people I  meet/gain from volunteering, I feel like I won’t be able to gain the same with a job because I believe that helping my community means doing it voluntarily and I don’t want to do it to get something in return/ for them to pay me. However; you do need a job for university, which I will get, but I will also try to volunteer for my community.

Moving on, during my free time I enjoy reading mystery, fantasy or fictional books, adore nature walks, love swimming, dancing, biking, watch movies and of course hang out with friends. To relax, I usually go for nature walks or listening to music. I enjoy all music genres, but I must get the “get up and dance” vibe from it 😉. One of my strongest attributes is teamwork and leadership as I have experience as a French Tutor, Facilitator Assistant, Big Sister role and many more.

And last, but not least, I joined Butterfly Effect (social responsibility) because first of all the name “butterfly” made me go “ooouuu interesting” 😊, second of all to meet and connect with new people, to gain more knowledge, experiences about new things on global perspectives and impacts.

I look forward to connecting with you all!

Image preview            Image preview        Image preview

8 Replies to “About me – Lokshana Groodoyal”

  1. Hi Lana!
    Your about was such a ride!
    I envy your skills, your thoughts, and all these intriguing things you know. Tu es bonita! (my poor Spanish and I). Maybe you should consider learning Swahili at some point haha, I could be a tutor just like you tutor French huh?
    I think you must have a good taste for diversity. Being born in one country, moving to another, learning different languages, the drive to meet new people, it’s so nice.
    I read that you were born and raised in Mauritius. Is it the African country to the East of Madagascar? (Just say yes so I can start bragging we come from the same home).
    I had a few questions:
    1. What do you like most about the people you have volunteered with/for?
    2. That you love reading fantasy books, what work was the most interesting to you and why?
    3. How do you think we can make all people feel part of the community?
    Thanks and Regards!

    • Hi Allam! 🙂 🙂
      Gracias for your compliment and yes I will at some point learn Swahili. The tutoring idea sounds great 🙂

      Yes, that’s right! I was born in Mauritius (you got the exact direction of it 🙂 ) usually when people ask me where Mauritius is… I go in so much details, but you did a great job there, hahaha.

      To answer your questions:
      1. What I liked the most about the people I volunteered with was – their personality. There were so many different personalities that I got to work with, which some of them were super friendly. And I was volunteering at a catholic church and that too – with little kids (grade 1-4). Since I’m not religiously Catholic (even though I go to masses), I didn’t know much about reconciliation and baptism, but I got to learn all of it because they were so generous to work with someone who wasn’t born Catholic.

      2. I haven’t read many fantasy books recently and it’s been a really long time since I read a fantasy book. that’s why I can’t remember what book I read.

      3. According to me, I believe that accepting others for who they are regardless of their background, race, etc… and give them equal treatments. What do you think?

  2. Hi Loskshana
    It was very interesting reading and knowing more about you, First it is nice that you are able to speak in many languages. It is an advantage because you can explore the world and you wont find it hard to speak with people. When did you start learning these languages? Do you find it hard to speak all the languages?
    Secondly I have seen that you love volunteering than jobs unlike many people who get jobs to earn wealth and be rich. It is very good and enjoyable to volunteer and help others and make the society better.
    It is also good that you spend your leisure time well unlike most youths and teenagers waste their time taking drugs and joining bad companies. Do you engage in any activities in school?

    • Hi hannah,
      Thank you your comment! I started learning most of my languages when i was in kinder-garden because in my school back in my country we had language classes. And as Mauritius is a multicultural island we have different people/ friends with different languages and so i followed my passion for languages and started to learn them. Then in high-school here in canada, they have introductory spanish.

      No, it’s not that hard; although the transition is funny 😄 because if you are speaking in one language then transitioning to another is hard because i tend to mix them,( I’m improving though)

      Yes, volunteering is amazing just doing something for the community and not getting your profit/wealth in return 🙂

      As far as activities in school, most of my activities are outside of school. Although, i was in a chess club in grade 11 with some friends, but then i quit because it was after school and i also had volunteering after school.

  3. Wow, being multilingual is a great skill to have! That is great that you speak so many languages. I would love to know six different languages as well as I only speak three 🙂

    • Thank you! It’s great how you speak Russian. I always wanted to get the “Rrr” accent with the tongue roll 🙂 as far as learning languages, you can still do so as your hobby;)

Leave a Reply