Ellen Piasentin

Hey, my name’s Ellen, I’m fourteen and I’m from Coquitlam B.C., Canada. I’m a grade 9 french immersion student at Charles Best Secondary, where my favourite subject is English. I love to read and write, and make an effort to do as much of both as possible; although, sometimes it can get difficult to fit between homework, school and other activities. My dad is Italian, born in Canada to Italian immigrants, and my mom’s family is originally from the UK.

My family is made up of my parents and two younger siblings, a brother and a sister. I also have a black cat named Shadow. We all play sports, even my parents, and every spring break we go for at least one week to Red Mountain (a ski hill about seven hours away from where I live) to go skiing and visit my dad’s extended family. As well, most summers we travel at least once out of British Columbia. We have gone to England, France, elsewhere in Canada and the United-States.

If I could have any job right now, I would either want to be a clinical psychologist or clinical neuropsychologist. I find the human brain and mind fascinating and want a job where I could help people. I don’t think the job would be “fun,” but I do think that I would enjoy it.

In my free time, I like to read, write, spend time with my family and otherwise stay at home. However, what I usually do in my free time is homework, whether I like it or not.

I enrolled in Butterfly Effect because I love learning about different cultures and places, and with this class, not only will I get an amazing learning opportunity, but I will also get to help people. The different types of projects you can do in this class also really interested me, as an inquiry or action based project both give you so much freedom, but what really excited me was how we get to see the projects of other people from places super far away.

 

2 Replies to “Ellen Piasentin”

  1. Hiya Ellen! Your About Me is awesome! Since your dad speaks Italian can you? It’s such a beautiful language and the place is amazing too! Skiing also sounds like so much fun, I’ve only skied a few times can you do black diamonds? I hope maybe one day we could collaborate on a project for people on the other side of the world to see, that would be awesome!
    I hope you have a great day, can’t wait to hear from you!

  2. Hey Vienna, thanks for the comment!
    No, unfortunately, I don’t speak Italian, although I can understand a general conversation in it and know some words. Both of my parents’ first languages are English so that’s what we speak at home. Have you travelled to Italy? I was too young to remember it the last time that I was there, but I would love to visit it again.
    Skiing is really fun! I can do black diamonds, but not nearly as well as anyone who skis competitively.
    I think collaborating on a project at some point would be really cool!
    Sorry for the late response but I hope you have a great day and a happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply